Velominati : The Rules ~ Rule #12: The correct number of bikes to own is N+1

Caro's N+1

Caro’s N+1

Caro's Black Beauty

“Black Beauty” ~ road bike

Caro's Myca MTB

“Myca” ~ mountain bike

Caro's Pub Bike

“Pub Bike” ~ gym bike

Some  of you may be familiar with Velominati > The Rules

They are the Keepers of the Cog.  In so being, they also maintain the sacred text wherein lie the simple truths of cycling etiquette known as The Rules. It is in their trust to maintain and endorse this list (being 91!)

At times I shall refer to “The Rules”.  I’m about to share with you that I follow Rule #12…

Rule # 12: While the minimum number of bikes one should own is 3, the correct number is n+1, where n is the number of bikes currently owned. This equation may also be re-written as s-1, where s is the number of bikes owned that would result in separation from your partner.

Myca

My first bike purchase was Myca. My brother bought her for me in 2007 when I decided to loose 25kg and gain some fitness. She is a Specialized 27 geared custom-tuned suspension mountain bike and weighs 14kg. I have ridden 1,225km on Myca. Some of my greatest achievements on Myca was when I rode her on 3 CQ Bike Rides: Yeppoon to Bundaberg, Goondiwindi to Brisbane and Gayndah to Noosa. I have ridden single and fire trails on her, the longest fire trail ride being from The Gap to Nebo and return.

Black Beauty

My second bike purchase was Black Beauty. My brother, sister-in-law and father bought her for me Dec 2012. She is a Avanti Questa 2 10 speed Carbon Fibre framed road bike and weighs 9kg. I have ridden 1,419km on Beauty. Her most pleasurable day out is Tuesday: the Lifecycle ‘Wombles’ River Loop! My longest ride on Beauty was a STRAVA 100mile (160km) Challenge. On March 24 she will participate in her first Coot-tha 100km Challenge. Let me tell you…she is biting at the bit to fall within the top 15 women’s 45-49 category!

Pub Bike

My third bike purchase was Pub Bike. I bought her for $40 from the Salvation Army in February 2013. She is a 1990 something Malvern Star single geared road bike and weighs, like…100kg! I ride him to my pfaff sessions at the gym. I do not ride him up hills. Mostly because when I hit a hill he stops like a donkey.

I love all my bikes. I try not to favour any one bike. They are like my children. I share my love equally. Oh for goodness sakes who am I kidding? Beauty is by far my favourite bike! When I die, her wheel will be my headstone and mounted to the wheel will be the following quote:

“Life is like a ten speed bicycle. Most of us have gears we never use.

~ Charles M. Schulz

To embrace Velominati’s rules ~

http://www.velominati.com/the-rules/

3 thoughts on “Velominati : The Rules ~ Rule #12: The correct number of bikes to own is N+1

      • My first was a Giant hybrid, We had such fun together, riding like Miss Daisy around the town, exploring each others capabilities, but she was seduced away from me, and seems to have wandered off to Brisbane with son Ben.. My first true love road bike was a Giant defy, which was spurned for a new love in a Orbea Onix. A hot blooded Spanish bike with a full carbon frame and running gear to die for. But the dreaded cyclist mid life crisis is rearing its ugly head stem in a ever increasing desire/lust to have a N+1 of a new Specialized S Works SL4 . Will this eternal wander lust for new bikes ever stop!!!

Leave a Reply

